• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

EL 8.5x42 Mk1 vs new kids on the block (1 Viewer)

jonnyboyc

Hi,

I am a newbie on this forum and trying to find my way to buy a good pair of all round binos that will last my lifetime. (42 now, so another 40 years if lucky)

I have the opportunity to buy a set of EL 8.5x42 Mk 1 (2002) for £675.

Optically they are perfect condition, but the outer cover well worn.

Would these be considered good value compared to spending the same on brand new from Hawke/Vortex/Opticron, etc?

Has optics, coatings, ED glass etc moved on significantly since 2002, that makes these newer models the better buy?

Hmm - would an Opticron top of the range binocular with 30 year warranty be better? Swarovski would service it for a long time for sure.

Can you try others out to compare it to the Swarovski?

Hi,

I am a newbie on this forum and trying to find my way to buy a good pair of all round binos that will last my lifetime. (42 now, so another 40 years if lucky)

Would these be considered good value compared to spending the same on brand new from Hawke/Vortex/Opticron, etc?

Has optics, coatings, ED glass etc moved on significantly since 2002, that makes these newer models the better buy?