• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New to DSLR and BF (1 Viewer)

Jack93

Hi :) im new to Bird Forum, and im in the process of getting an eos 500d.

Im struggling in what lens to get, im only 17 and dont have much money to spend on say a 70-200mm f/4L for example. I would ;like something suitable for birding although it doesn't need to be bigger than 300mm (I can't afford them)
any ideas for a suitable starter lens, considering i will upgrade when I have enough money? thanks.

Hi and welcome.

Here you go:
http://www.lcegroup.co.uk/Used/Canon-EF-75-300MM-USM-III_27975.html

I think it's £129 and you're not going to get much cheaper than that for something going out to 300mm. This is equivalent in angular coverage to a 480mm lens on 35mm film, so it will give you a start. Shoot at a high ISO to keep camera shake under control, and download the free Noiseware if you want to reduce the noise in your images.

When you can, get an EF 300 f4L. This will allow use of an 1.4x extender, thus giving you ~420mm at f5.6 on your camera, and you'll still get the effect of your 1.6x crop.

Your most important ally will be good fieldcraft. Get to know the habits of birds, and try not to disturb them. My local LA run reserve allows school groups to visit during the week , and guess what - it's bedlam, and many of the birds fly away.

Thanks for that, i was looking at the 300m USM that you suggested vs the 55-250mm IS - lotts of good review for the 55-250, and thought it had an advantage of IS or is this not the case? (as the canon eos 500d has no built in IS)