• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

As a bird photographer, I'm glad I picked Nikon (1 Viewer)

I have no problem whatsoever tracking flying birds with even a 20D, let alone my 50D, which has a much better autofocus system. If you think any camera available today will track every bird in every situation then you are living in cloud cuckoo land. In the old days we had manual focus, you had one focus point, and it was no problem, perhaps someone needs to work on their technique.

As for poor tracking of birds, of course the body is the driving force, but if you have the wrong lens, it isnt going to make things any easier. Even with 51 autofocus points you still have to lock on with the centre point first before the others will take over. Again, sounds like poor technique. Id like to see a body that can track every bird flying towards you, that has got to be the hardest scenario of all, and with a Snowy Owl, i am assuming on snow, with very little contrast, you are asking for trouble with any camera and lens combination. There is after all that little switch on the lens that i bet most people have never used, it says MF on it.

Please explain the purpose of tagging images with GPS data, as im a little confused as to the reason for it. I can understand when someone is in a different country every day, and can lose track of where they photographed some images, but for the average joe ? And would that person be using a D300 ? I think not.