• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping with Telescope vs Spotting Scope (1 Viewer)

baofeng

1) Does telescope or spotting scope will have better optical performance?
2) I understand a telescope gives a inverted image. But it will not matter when you are digiscoping right?
3) If I have $2000 and wanted to buy a good combo of telescope and DSLR, what will you recommend?

Hello Baofeng,

I am very new to this and am just in the planning process of getting my first telescope, but I can offer a few thoughts.

1) I am not sure, but believe that telescopes got the edge - atleast I have never been interested in spottingscopes - but then I saw the results people are getting with telescopes and let me tell you - I want one:D

2) Many people seems to thing telescopes will invert the image, that is not the case.

3) For DSLR there are several options - I would say go for the best camera you are willing to buy from one of the major brands, Canon, Nikon, Sony, Pentax.
As for scope you should go for a doublet or triplet with FPL-53 glass - most popular and cheap seems to be the skywatcher Evostar ED80, which will give you a 600mm F7.5 lens.

I would get a telescope, I think that spottingscopes seem very unhandy with the angled tube, on the other hand spottingscopes are so much lighter/smaller so easy to carry around.

Just my thoughts

Regards
Kim