• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

why birds? (1 Viewer)

londonayesha

Hello, I'm new here..

I'm not a birder, but I'm very much into environmental issues and wildlife protection. I'm wandering if I could gather some of your opinions for a project I'm doing. I'm not looking to spam your forums, or infiltrate as a non-birder, and I sincerely hope this post does not offend anyone. I've been reading these forums a while and it seems to be the most knowledgable and active I've come across, and I really hope to be able to finish this project.

I'm an art student, and my work centres on the idea of humans relating to the environment around them. I was hoping you could answer a few questions about your personal experiences birding - I hope to collate the answers anonymously (or named, if you prefer) into book-form, as part of a series of books involving different groups of people's interpretation of nature. The inclusion of birders seems all-important to me, as you all strike me as people who enjoy nature and the outdoors in a very particular and passionate way.

All I want to know is: Why specifically birds (rather than other species)? What drew you to birding, more than any other nature-related activity? What do you feel you personally get out of it? Just a few lines, or a couple of paragraphs describing why you enjoy birding. If you prefer you could describe the moment you've experienced that you feel makes it all worthwhile - spotting a rare bird for instance.