• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Yellow Legged Gull & Lesser Black Backed Gull (1 Viewer)

Andrew

wibble wibble
Dave Stone posted a photo showing the two species next to eachother for comparision. I found it hard to tell them apart. The only difference I thoguht was the YLG had stronger yellow legs than the LBBG. Please help me out!!:-C

I'm no expert, in fact I hate gulls! but the main differences between the two birds mentioned should be, the mantle colour, on LBBG it will be quite dark (although it varys) and the YLG is paler by comparison. Basically it starts pale for herring then Caspian is the next lightest, followed by YLG and then LBBG. There are other differences but thats the main one I work on. Not too good when it comes to mirrors etc, but if you look again at his photo you can see a definate difference in over all shape and size, and the white on the wingtips (known as the mirrors) is far more pronounced in the LBBG.

Hope that helps a bit:t:

Last edited:
Thanks Ashley, I did notice the difference in the 'mirrors' too.

They were just wingtips to me, now they are mirrors. Gosh, I'm moving up!

Any more tips from anyone else?

Hi all,
Yellow-legged Gulls can be difficult at some ages,but adults are usually not that hard.I would identify one using the following criteria:
1)mantle colouration:should be paler than most graellsii LBB,being roughly the same shade as Common Gull.