• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sylvia communis vs Sylvia conspicillata (1 Viewer)

SLopezM

Sergio López Martín
Hello everyone. This summer I have posted several threads asking for help with a Sylvia communis/conspicillata bird. I still haven't seen any S. conspicillata bird (at least that's what I think), so I have no experience on telling these two species apart.

Therefore, I am creating this thread asking for tips to distinguish these species. I have some bird guides (such as Lars Svensson's one), but when comparing the drawings in these books with images on the Internet I feel a little confused. I would really appreciate if you could post images from the Internet to compare individuals of the same type (same sex, age, etc.) of both species. By looking at these images and the differences you tell me to look at in each photo, I hope to be able to identify birds of both species without any problem!

Thanks in advance!

Here are my own thoughts on this, others will have other thoughts and suggestions:

I think this a an excellent idea but I would start by adding a proviso - it is important imo to learn to identify birds in the field as well as from photos - otherwise you are relying on a photo being clear and unambiguous which we know from ID threads, is not always a luxury afforded to us, so may miss out on being able to ‘tick’ the bird you actually saw which would be a shame.