• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

sparrowhawks/kestrels-help (1 Viewer)

elaine rowe

Hello everyone im new to a computer,new to the net not very knowledgable about birds but learning fast.Would really like to know more about sparrowhawks and kestrels that suddenly decide to make their feeding grounds in a built up area in a large Yorkshire council estate.I used to see these birds years ago when i was a child but havent seen any for years. Im really pleased to see them again but curious if theres any specific reason. Does anyone know.

Elaine

I can't help with your specific question, but believe me there are plenty of knowledgeable people on this forum who will reply to you - just wait and see.

So let me instead simply welcome you to BF. I'm sure you'll have a great time like the rest of us.

Best of luck with your raptor hunt.

Welcome to BF, Elaine.

Like foxes, both Kestrels and Sparrowhawks have, over the years, realised that there is an adequate supply of food to be had from urban areas. Natural habitats in the countryside have been eroded through intensive farming and the urban
spread of population. Hence the fact that we see more kestrels and sprawks in our inner cities.

Although you will find that sparrowhawks do not forage far from well-wooded areas where they nest.

Kestrels have long been known to nest on tall structures including buildings, cranes and electricity pylons! And these days it is not uncommon to see peregrines in cities and towns either, so keep your eyes peeled!

Hope this is of some help!