• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Russian Foton Binoculars opinion (1 Viewer)

Hey guys just wanted to ask your opinion about Foton binoculars from Russia. I'm relatively new in birding and have only pair of Leitz to compare but this Fotons look pretty good to me. What you think?

Attachments

• 6707338.jpg
    6707338.jpg
    271.2 KB · Views: 330
Russia produces some superb optics, few of which are well known here.
The military BPO 7x30 for instance has a deserved reputation for excellence (see PP 156-158 of Dr Seegers monograph on Military Binoculars), which of course has been abused in the post USSR period by cheap knockoffs. So the glass may be superb or it may be marginal, you have to see for yourself rather than just buy on faith.
Foton is a well known brand, so your odds are better, plus it seems you are happy with them, so enjoy them.

Actually I got this pair absolutely for free from my uncle. As soon as he found out about my new hobby he brought me this pair. Turned out that back in 90's he use to bring optics from Russia and still have small left over stock of 5x25 7x35 10x40 Just amazing how having big family can work to your advantage sometimes lol. I tried only 7x35 but holidays are coming so hopefully I can get my hands on other magnifications as well :)

Visually look more like Zeiss Notarem or Swift Trilyte in my opinion. I think Fotons were the only roof prism binoculars made in former USSR. I made little research looks like they were produced in Kazan at KOMZ plant. I checked there's website but found no Fotons. Maybe they discontinued this line ...