• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Am I missing out? (1 Viewer)

Rob from Texas

So I have a bit of experience with bins and still learning vast amounts more here on site with you guys, but,... I still have a hole in my knowledge: Porro prisms.

I seem to have missed out completely on the Porro scene. Now that I think about, I have zero experience with Porros.

I run across these inexpensive Steiner and Nikon ads of these little stubby things, and remember that they do not even NEED phase coating to produce good views.

Should I back up to investigate, or are these impractical these days?

Rob

Hi,

in my opinion, you don't miss a thing with Steiner porros.
As for Nikon, they range from cheap and and quite ok for the price (Aculon to Action EX) over wide field enthusiasts bins (E2) to sought after collectibles which used to be the best bins money could buy in 90s and still are close to or even with the current alphas (SE).

Just don't take 'em on a canoe trip or jungle excursion...

Joachim

in my opinion, you don't miss a thing with Steiner porros.
Good advice - IMHO: over-hyped, over-advertised, and under-performing -- even for uses they're designed for which I don't have (eg. marine use).

Steiners aside, though, and as a practical proposition, I strongly suspect that porro-prism binoculars, even very good ones, are for those of us who are somewhat "optical obsessives".