• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Ben M's 2007 Patch List (2 Viewers)

Ben M

My local patch is Bestwood Country Park on the north edge of Nottingham. I've been actively birding (and watching this patch) since September 2006 - I'm a beginner.

The more experienced birders who cover this patch seem to record 100+ species in the year, but most include some nearby lakes (technically not part of the park) that I haven't explored yet. In the last four months of 2006 I was visiting the park quite regularly - sometimes up to six days a week! In that period I recorded 59 species - missing almost all of the summer visitors, so my target for this year is to break 70.

The only species recorded in 2006 but not in 2007 is now just:
  1. Peregrine: a rare visitor (only 1 record, a bit of luck).

Patch ticks are in black bold and life ticks are in red bold.

Last edited:
January 12th

A good start to the year with one life tick and my best day total.

1. Greenfinch
2. Goldfinch
3. Blue Tit
4. Magpie
5. Collared Dove
6. Blackbird
7. Woodpigeon
8. Carrion Crow
9. Chaffinch
10. Coal Tit
11. Great Tit
12. Great Spotted Woodpecker
13. Robin
14. Goldcrest
15. Lesser Spotted Woodpecker
16. Long-tailed Tit
17. Nuthatch
18. Starling
19. Rook
20. Treecreeper
21. Black-headed Gull
22. Green Woodpecker
23. Redwing
24. House Sparrow
25. Wren
26. Coot
27. Tufted Duck
28. Mallard
29. Bullfinch
30. Canada Goose
31. Mute Swan
32. Moorhen
33. Pochard
34. Greylag Goose
35. Great Crested Gerebe
36. Egyptian Goose
37. Teal
38. Willow Tit
39. Sparrowhawk
40. Lesser Redpoll
41. Cormorant
42. Little Grebe
43. Dunnock