• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is the Gitzo 5530S overkill? (1 Viewer)

DonFrambach

I'm new at this and would appreciate some guidance. I have a 500mm f4manual focus prime lens and a 2x teleconverter that I've been using with a Wimberley Sidekick attached to a 55mm Really Right Stuff ball head attached to an old Gitzo aluminum tripod that appears to be a series 2.

I'd like to upgrade the tripod now and probably upgrade to a full Wimberley head in the future.

From looking through the Gitzo on-line catalog, it appears to me that they recommend a series 5 tripod for 500mm lenses. Before I purchase this large tripod, I'd sure appreciate advice from more experienced birders.

TIA

Don Frambach

Last edited:
Hi Don:

I recently revamped my tripod system, I was using a Gitzo 1257 + Markins M10 and a Sidekick, I HATE IT!!!! I went the BH-55 plus Sidekick route and there was some improvement. Finally I got a Gitzo 3530 LSV with a full Gimbal and I am happy again.

I don't know how heavy your lens/camera setup is, I use this set up without a problem; D2Xs, 20-400VR, TC14 EII, SB-800 +BB and the full WH on the 3530LSV all together is close to 15-16 lbs. If you want to go the safe route (meaning that you will get something heavier in the future) the equivalent of the 1500 series (don't know the new codes) will be a safe bet. I have a friend with the Canon 500mm F4 IS and he uses the same setup as me, no problems either. Good luck

Greetings Don,