• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Life list? Year list? (1 Viewer)

BirderBoy

Birding addict!
Okay, here I go. I'm about to embarrass myself in the Birdforum community. :-C

I know I am about to sound like a complete novice but what is a year list and a life list? I think I know what they are but I'm not completely sure.:brains:
I would like to find out so I can start one. :scribe:

So please help and remember I am a young birder (14) and don't call the birding police and have them confiscate my bins!!!

BirderBoy :hippy: peace

Hi BirderBoy.
A year list is a list of the bird species you have actually seen that year.
A life list is a list of different bird species you have seen over your life time.
A life tick is a bird you have now seen, but have never seen before.
Hope this helps?

Oh.

Oh right.
Thanks!!! o:)
I had it completely wrong. :-O
I thought you made a list of birds and tried to find them. :h?:
LOL
Thanks again.

Many birders are addicted to listing... me included.
I keep year list, life list, several county lists, world list, several country lists, continent lists, garden lists, holiday lists, day lists (e.g. 'big day' lists) and not just birds... dragonflies, butterflies, moths, hoverflies...
there must be a medical term for it ;)
Ken

Oh right.
Thanks!!! o:)
I had it completely wrong. :-O
LOL
Thanks again.

That doesn't sound like such a bad idea- making target lists for certain areas within a certain amount fo time.

I have a life list and am keeping a year list- doing a big year (trying to ID as much as possible) in Costa Rica actually.