• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

What do you do in bad weather? (1 Viewer)

Steve Thomas

Hi everyone, I am new to birding and was wondering, what do you do in bad weather and unable to go out birding? Do you do anything to do with the hobby ? I live in the county of Somerset UK and we have a lot of rain and bad weather this time of year and was wondering if there is anything I could be doing?.

Happy New year to all.

Steve

Yep, forums are always good :t: I also catch on reading bird & wildlife magazines which get neglected in the busier times of the year.

Another thing I like to do is work out what species I haven't seen or often keep missing and go through local bird club reports (and BF again!) and work out a rough plan of what places to go at certain times of the year.

I've also started sketching again after years of procrastinating and love these long evenings (and wet days) when I can sit at my desk and draw without feeling guilty that I should be outdoors.

And there's always a load of wildlife programmes I've recorded on my Sky box which need watching too! :-O

Process the photos I take on fine days; work out where I'm going on my next birding excursion/birding holiday/targeted photographic trip; tinker with gear; catch up various lists (I still prefer physical biro marks on a list to software); post on here; admire other people's pictures in the gallery and on flickr.

It's hard to find time to fit it all in!

John