• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Reptiles and Amphibians Quiz (1 Viewer)

madamcoolpix

a.k.a. Madam Butterfly
Hi, folks! :hi:

I have a bunch of pictures of reptiles and amphibians that I think I have correctly identified. But I’m not sure and following MlZad suggestion I’ve decided to use them in a Quiz to check those ID.

Sorry if the quality of the pictures is not always as good as it should be... but I was a beginner when I took the photos and my equipment was very modest.

Shall we start with a couple of Spanish snakes? ;) Two views of each one, to help…

Enjoy yourselves!

Attachments

• IMG_0236_Quiz.jpg
    IMG_0236_Quiz.jpg
    73.8 KB · Views: 107
  • IMG_0238_Quiz.jpg
    IMG_0238_Quiz.jpg
    85 KB · Views: 106
  • IMG_7310_Quiz.jpg
    IMG_7310_Quiz.jpg
    124.1 KB · Views: 88
  • IMG_7311_Quiz.jpg
    IMG_7311_Quiz.jpg
    110.1 KB · Views: 101
Thanks for making this quiz :)
1. Ladder Snake (Rhinechis scalaris)
2. Viperine Snake (Natrix maura)

lthough for some reason it's now Rhinechis scalaris
There've been a lot of changes in the past few years in the latin classification of european species... I think it had something to do with new genetic studies...?

I can hardly wait for more!

Wow, you've been really quick answering! I didn't expect to have replies just after posting, and yesterday I was quite busy to check this. Sorry, I will pay more attention next time!

I'm glad to see all of us agree on both cuties! I know almost nothing on reptiles and amphibians and I identified them using a field guide of European Reptiles and pics on the Internet.