• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Camera for Pentax PF-80 ED scope with 20-60x zoom angled eyepiece (1 Viewer)

bert11886

Hello,

Can anyone recommend a camera to use with the subject scope? I have heard that the Nikon coolpix are really good for digiscoping, but I have no experience with these are any others. I have been birding for a while and digiscoping would add a new dimension to my hobby. Thanks for any tips you could provide me.

Bert11886

The CP4500 will certainly work well with this scope, its what I started with and the early half of my gallery were all taken with it before I upgraded the EP to a Pentax XW and changed the camera to Oly C7070 for its bigger LCD screen and therefore easier focusing. I think most advice now would suggest there are better cameras out there and the 4500 is slow, which is undoubtedly true, but then again you can probably pick up a used 4500 quite cheaply and it would certainly get you going.

bert11886 said:
Hello,

Can anyone recommend a camera to use with the subject scope? I have heard that the Nikon coolpix are really good for digiscoping, but I have no experience with these are any others. I have been birding for a while and digiscoping would add a new dimension to my hobby. Thanks for any tips you could provide me.

Bert11886

Hello Bert,
Best advice I can give is many cameras are suitable for your scope so spend an hour going through this forum and you will be a lot wiser as to what will suit you at the end of it. We can all give advise on what we use but you need to find a camera that you feel comfortable with.