• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Spitsbergen (1 Viewer)

meles

Has anybody done a wildlife cruise round Spitsbergen? I am planning this for next Summer and would like advice on best time to go to maximize chances of seeing birds, polar bears and walrus, and also which boats are recommended (or not!). Does anybody know how rough the sea is up there?

Hi Meles,

In 1998 I worked as a guide one summer on the RV Professor Molchanov. The cruises were organised by Oceanwide Expeditions.
Usually the ships start in mid June and the season ends in end August. For seeing most of the birds and mammals I would recommend an earlier start, certainly not August. June or July, well this depends on the ice which is very unpredictable.

We had polar bears on all trips, although it's more difficult to find them when the ice is gone. Most (14 on one trip of 10 days) we had early July.
Walrusses were easier later in the summer. On the first trip in June we had a group passing by. When the ice is gone and the ships can approach the island of Moffen (landing not allowed) they are pretty guaranteed. As long as there is still some ice the chances of finding one or two on an ice shelf are also pretty good.

Auks (Brünnich's Guillemot, Little Auk) are also easy to see, especially when the Hinlopen street is ice free (usually early July to mid July). In August they are finished with breeding and you will find them at sea.

You see, it's not so easy, as it depends very much on the ice which changes every year. Still I would recommend you early or mid July.