• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New to birding, here is my equipment so far, what else do I need (1 Viewer)

stlouisguy

I have found I really enjoy birding, and want to keep a photo log of my birds. I have a Canon Rebel xti 10 meg, the stock 18-55 lense, and the 100mm macro.

I think the 100-400 would be good as I dont really like stagnant lenses. Weight doent bother me and most shots would be as I creep through woods and such.

I have heard of magnifiers, but dont understand much about those yet.

Any and all comments are welcome as I am a novice at most of this camera stuff.

Thanks in advance

I have a Canon Rebel xti 10 meg

I think the 100-400 would be good

That's exactly the set-up I use and can definitely recommend that lens. You can check my gallery for some example pics if you want.

Re magnifier (you mean teleconverter I think). They do work with this though you can use them with this lens but you may lose autofocus some (or most or all) of the time..........lots of info about this splashed across the web.

Yeah, teleconvertor. I guess I dont understand, does it double the magnification? Losing focus doesnt bother me that much I guess unless I need it for flight shots.

I am going to try and get the 400 birds listed for Missouri. Figure that should take me a few years or so LOL

Yeah, teleconvertor. I guess I dont understand, does it double the magnification? Losing focus doesnt bother me that much I guess unless I need it for flight shots.