Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Collins Complete British Birds - Photoguide

Old Monday 3rd May 2004, 18:57   #1
mcdowella

Collins Complete British Birds - Photoguide

Noticed this at my local bookshop. It's paperback size, with a clear plastic jacket, and costs £14.99. You get one decent-sized colour photograph of every British Species, with usually 1-3 small inset pictures showing different plumages, and half a page of text. At the very least, it gives you a second opinion to your usual guide without confusing you with species you won't see here - I quite like it, but I'm no expert.

BF Supporter 2005 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Monday 3rd May 2004, 19:27   #2
birdman
Орнитолог-любитель

I've not seen this myself, but I do have a couple of photoguides, and I like them.

I've seen it written that a photograph often gives you a poor representation of a bird, and I understand why, but conversely it also gives you a bit of an idea what you might see in the flesh, so to speak, rather than with all the salient id markers highlighted.

I don't think it is possible to have too many (good) guidebooks.
Old Monday 3rd May 2004, 19:50   #3
Tero
Retired

I prefer illustrations for most birds, but many times I need a photo too, especially hawks and bigger birds. I guess nobody thought of providing a guide with photos and illustrations, one each.

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2018 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Monday 3rd May 2004, 20:49   #4
scampo
Steve Campsall

The RSPB guide has photos + illustrations, I think.
Old Monday 3rd May 2004, 21:00   #5
Andy Bright
Administrator
BF Supporter 2020