Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
ZEISS Summer Savings - Experience unique moments of nature. Save up to £250 on selected ZEISS Binoculars - limited time only!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

South African Butterfly

Old Wednesday 14th June 2006, 19:22   #1
Widus
BF Supporter 2019

Question South African Butterfly

Chief or Layman?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Butterfly.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	453.2 KB
ID:	48994  

BF Supporter 2018 2019 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Friday 23rd June 2006, 06:16   #2
pete woodall

Hi Wildus

No one else has replied to this so I'll make a couple of comments although I'm no expert. I'm quoting from "Pennington's Butterflies of Southern Africa" (1978) ed CGC Dickson & DM Kroon.

Layman Amauris a. albimaculata - "the spots of the forewing are always pure white, whereas in A. echeria they are more often ochraceous. But the best way to distinguish the two is to observe the palpi, which in A. albimaculata have an elongate white stripe, but in A. echeria a white dot."

Chief Amauris e.echeria - "... variable species, ... usually shows ochraceous forewing spots".

After all that I'm undecided about your butterfly. the forewing spots do look pure white (=A. albimaculata) but some of Pennington's photos of A.echeria also show specimens with white spots but this is shown in the inland form vaal and subspecies lobengula His photo of A. e. echeria (the coastal subspecies) does show ochraceous forewing spots but how consistent this is I don't know - thus the comment about variability?
I can't make out the palps on your photo, this feature seems to be the clincher.