• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

another Nikon Sporter question! (1 Viewer)

emmabt

Hi everyone,
I'm new to bird watching and have been making do with budget compact 25mm binoculars, but really want something bigger and better!

I'm quite tempted by the Sporters on warehouse express, but wondered if anyone could give some advice -
firstly, is the 36mm diameter going to be noticably bigger than my 25s- and is it noticably smaller than 42mms, which are the only size I have been able to test (not Nikons) I feel I need quite a change to justify the expense (particularly to my husband!)
Alternatively, does anyone have any other ideas for a similar price but 42mm - there are some opticron ones on warehouse express too, but not such a big discount so I'm assuming not so good...

Also - and here is where I reveal even further my complete lack of knowledge in the binocular field(!!) - will they come with a case and strap etc or do I have to order that separately?

Thanks to anyone who can give me some advice, and hopefully mean I can hold my head up high next time I go out bird watching!

Emma

Hi Emma & welcome to BF

You wouldn't regret buying the sporters - honestly!!

But, to give you some info to justify the purchase to yourself (or husband;) ) The diameter would certainly be noticeably bigger than your current bins - the actual "barrels" are 48mm. But it would be the superior quality that I suspect would be the biggest difference you would notice (and your Birding skills would no doubt benefit too!)