• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Bird-feeding tips for a beginner + how to attract more birds? (1 Viewer)

LeeUK2020

Hey everyone! I'm from London, UK and new here, and would like some general advice on bird feeding!

I put up my first bird feeder a week ago, and recently purchased a smaller Nyjer (or niger?) seed feeder which will arrive in 1-2 weeks in the hopes of attracting finches, especially goldfinches. I've not seen one around here before - what are the chances of them appearing at this time of the year?

I'm also currently putting out bird seed mix that's been popular amongst robins and great tits, and also soaked dried mealworms every morning which the magpies are going crazy for. However, I've not seen any blue tits and was wondering what would attract them? As a beginner I don't want to splurge on more things like suet and fat balls just yet!

I also have a water bowl attached to the pole where the feeders hang, but every time the magpies land on the mesh feeder to eat the worms and fly off, they shake the pole and spill half of the water! Is there anything better I can do to prevent this as I do not want to put it lower down on the pole where it's steadier lest squirrels use it as a 'stepping stone' to get to the food?

Any additional advice would be welcome, especially on attracting colourful and rarer species in a busy London subarb! I'm also keen on learning more about nesting habits of common UK birds and what I should be doing and feeding the birds around nesting season! :king:

Sus

United Kingdom