• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Birding Sojourn Australia? (1 Viewer)

JohnNancy

United States
Hi, I'm new to birdforum.net, will someone be kind enough to point me to planning an extended birding sojourn to Australia?

I have more than six months and up to year. I'm interested in doing as much of the birding as I can self directed (with eBird help), but will engage a local guide where and when circumstances require it.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

KC Foggin

Super Moderator
Staff member
Opus Editor
Supporter
United States
Hi there John and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t:

We're glad you found us and thanks for taking a moment to say hello. Please join in wherever you like ;)

Kits

Picture Picker
Welcome to Birdforum! I am sure that you will find lots to interest you here and I hope that you enjoy your visits.

JohnNancy

United States
Welcome to Birdforum! I am sure that you will find lots to interest you here and I hope that you enjoy your visits.
Thanks for the welcome Kits, if I can get my Australia Birding Sojourn off the ground, I'll be glad to share what I learn with others.

delia todd

If I said the wrong thing it was a Senior Moment
Staff member
Opus Editor
Supporter
Scotland
I had two months in Australia last year (Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia). It was wonderful.

We have quite a number of members out there, so you could try a post in the Australia subforum here.

Whereabouts are you planning to go and what time of year would you plan to cover, would be the things to resolve first.

JohnNancy

United States
I had two months in Australia last year (Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia). It was wonderful.