• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birds of Prey - Help needed to Identify (1 Viewer)

Alfazzel90

Ireland
Hi all,

Pleased to meet you (first time poster and new member!)

I've got a few photos from recent trips to Scotland and Slovenia but I'm a bit of a newbie to or ornithology, so need some help identifying.

First image, is (I guess) some sort of Eagle? Taken over the mountains in Bled, Slovenia.

Second image - no clue, but looks like some bird of prey (it was soaring Eagle/Kite style above the trees, but seems to be more multicoloured)

Third and fourth image - these ones were taken in Skye, Scotland and given the size of the prey in the talons I'm guessing a Golden Eagle but deferring to your better judgement 🙂

Any help greatly appreciated and apologies if the images are unclear....I was very far away from all of these so it tested the limit of the camera zoom!

Attachments

• DSC02810.JPG
    DSC02810.JPG
    306.8 KB · Views: 135
  • DSC02903.JPG
    DSC02903.JPG
    381 KB · Views: 137
  • DSC01205.JPG
    DSC01205.JPG
    198 KB · Views: 135
  • DSC01213.JPG
    DSC01213.JPG
    200.9 KB · Views: 135
Welcome to birdforum!
You have 1) Common buzzard (5 obvious primaries) 2) Hooded Crow (note contrasting grey mantle with wings, also large blunt bill) and 3 & 4) Common buzzard (5 obvious primaries).
Don't let the farming community see images 3 & 4, I'm sure that there would be a furore over the misinterpretation of scavenging a lamb...

Hi, welcome to the forum. I think you will find us a friendly and helpful group.