• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Britain and Europe Orchid Book (1 Viewer)

rachk116

England
Hi all,

I'm just getting into Orchids and would like some advice on what book/s to buy on the identification and occurrences of them in Britain mainly, but also Europe.

I live in East Yorkshire and would love to know of any sites in the area that are good for Orchids. Have only seen Common Spotted, Heath Spotted and Pyramidal Orchids so far near home but would love to see other species. Sites around Norfolk are also of interest as I visit there quite often and am actually there next week (although I realise most will now be over).

Thanks in advance

Hi all,

I'm just getting into Orchids and would like some advice on what book/s to buy on the identification and occurrences of them in Britain mainly, but also Europe.

I live in East Yorkshire and would love to know of any sites in the area that are good for Orchids. Have only seen Common Spotted, Heath Spotted and Pyramidal Orchids so far near home but would love to see other species. Sites around Norfolk are also of interest as I visit there quite often and am actually there next week (although I realise most will now be over).

Thanks in advance

Hi, I think this book would fit into what you're looking for-
Orchids of Britain and Ireland and it also has a site guide in the back.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Orchids-Bri...=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1249055892&sr=1-5

Robert

Harrap & Harrap is the best UK guide on the market.

For the rest of Europe, there are a couple: