• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon G5 (1 Viewer)

I have had a G5 now for about 3 months.

I am new to birding however an have no experience of, but would like to learn about, digiscoping.

As a stand alone digital camera - this is the best I have used - Optical lens quality is first class and fast and the handling is great.

The G5 is the kind of digi camara that SLR uses will like (who can't afford a Canon Digi SLR!)

Its small enough to go out with you but big enough to handle like a proper camera.

Needless to say exposure's are spot on with loads of auto modes and full manual capability and being a 5 MP model, A4 prints are excellent.

You won't be disappointed.......hm now how can I connect it to my opticron 66 scope???

Cheers

Roger,

Have you looked on www.dpreview.com for their review of it? Also, if you go to www.pro90.info/forum and register as a member, then do a search for the Canon G5, you will see what several people have said about it compared to the Canon Pro90IS. As I remember, nice all around camera, but the main critique was its lack of reach, which you definitively want with birds.

Firstly, welcome to Birdforum Timf, you will find a lot of info. here!