• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Confused by “Improved” Trinovid Case (1 Viewer)

SCwatcher

United States
So I’ve been visiting Bird Forum for several years, but this is the first time I’ve posted.

I‘ve just purchased the Trinovid HD 8X42, which now includes a thin brown neoprene “cover” (hard to call it a case) that zips down the front and back. The widely scorned “adventure“ strap/case that previously was included at least made some sense and was functional.

I’m baffled by this new demi-case. It fits the binos and if you work hard you can squeeze in the strap. But there is no strap to connect to the case so you can carry the case like any other binocular you’ve ever seen. There are two holes on the back that look like you’re supposed to push through some sort of connector, which conveniently is not included or shown on Leica’s website.

So the only options seem to be that you have to carry the “case” in your hands OR thread the neck strap through the case back holes and then every time you use the binos you have this thin neoprene thing dangling at your mouth or chin.

I must be missing something obvious here as there is nothing in the user manual about connecting/using this case thing. The obvious solution is to just toss this thing and get a third party case. I just hate to waste. Frankly, Leica shouldn’t even bother including this. It’s odd that you can get a decent padded Zeiss case for less than $30 at BH Photo Video.

Anybody have a better understanding of this case/storage sleeve?

Thanks.

Anon2020

I too find this fashion for “unusable” cases perplexing and can’t figure out why the traditional padded case with a fold-over flap is no longer considered satisfactory.