• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS. Discover the fascinating world of birds, and win a birding trip to Columbia

Considering giving up on digiscoping (1 Viewer)

jlacasci

United States
I'm not trying to start a flame war, so please take my comments in context from my experience as a photographer. I recently purchased a Kowa TSN 883 with 25-60 eyepiece, phone adapter, and Kowa adapters for my Canon professional bodies. I am blown away by the optics looking through the scope with my eye. I am far less satisfied with the image quality with my Canon body attached, and even less so phone scoping. I've been a photographer for 40 years, but not video (I only mention video as I know some folks are taking 4K video or higher through their scope and obtaining prints from this). My tripod is the best 3 section carbon that Manfrotto sells. The images just don't cut it compared to when using a 100-500mm Canon RF even with a 2x teleconverter. I suspect my expectations were just too high. I love the idea of a 2000mm focal length, but I'm just disappointed to the point where I may sell the entire setup. Have other folks experienced the same thing?

Thanks,
Joe

KC Foggin

Super Moderator
Staff member
Opus Editor
Supporter
United States
I truly enjoyed digiscoping but due to an injury to my shoulder I just couldn't handle the weight any longer and I just didn't enjoy doing it on a tripod.

horukuru

Here I Come !
Malaysia