• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

studentbirder

United States
Hello! I am a student working on a bird feeder design project. I created three different prototypes (pictures and descriptions below!). Please let me know your thoughts and feedback!

As a note, these are very rough versions of what the feeders might look like and how they'll operate- they are really just to show the very basic version of the idea (**these were not actually used to feed birds).

Descriptions:
Prototype 1 (tall white pvc pipe, purple top and bottom, yellow rings)
This prototype is intended to allow the user to be selective about what types of bird can get into the feeder. The yellow ring allows the user to temporarily block the holes somewhat so that smaller birds can get through, but larger birds don't fly through and eat all of the food. The yellow ring can be clipped to the bottom of the feeder to block the holes. If the user decides not to use the rings, it can be unclipped.

Prototype 2 (colorful pringles can tube, two cardboard rings, white bottom and middle rings)
This prototype is intended for beginners who are unsure of what types of birds they want to feed or what types of feed they want to use. There are rings which can be switched to reveal different port sizes (for very small seed, medium seed, and large feed). The different port sizes allow the user to test out different options to see what they like and what types of birds are attracted to the feeder.

Prototype 3 (carboard tube, black top, pringles can inner tube, white bottom)