• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

First Birdwatching in Morocco (1 Viewer)

ehargv

Hello all,

You may have seen on other threads that I am new to Birding. Hopefully I will be travelling to Morocco in the not too distant future, and I thought it would be as good a place as any to jump into it all. Where's good in Morocco to make a start (I can spare a day or two), and what should I be looking out for?

Thanks so much.

Evelyn

Hi Evelyn,

Not too familiar with the region as others are here, but depending on where in Morocco you are, you'd probably have different targets. If you want to do a 2 day trip, try around Agadir in the coast with targets like Northern Bald Ibis, Barbary Quail, Marbled Teal, and African Blue Tit among many others.

It's too broad a question to answer really, as it's a big country and there are excellent birding sites all over Morocco. If you know roughly what your general itinerary will be, we could give suggestions.

It's too broad a question to answer really, as it's a big country and there are excellent birding sites all over Morocco. If you know roughly what your general itinerary will be, we could give suggestions.
Broadly I'm aiming for a few days in/around Marrakech, and then a couple of days in Casablanca, though its flexible!

Broadly I'm aiming for a few days in/around Marrakech, and then a couple of days in Casablanca, though its flexible!
Assuming you will have a vehicle, Oukaimeden is certainly worth a day trip from Marrakech, giving access to the High Atlas. It's a ski resort, so can be quite busy in winter, but is very quiet in Summer.