• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Gulls on Puget Sound, Washington State, USA (1 Viewer)

Hanuta06

I’m new to birding, am having some difficulty identifying gulls and would appreciate any help someone could give me. The four photos below are of different gulls in the Puget Sound region, Washington State, USA. The first three photos were taken at Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge in the afternoon on August 1st, and the last photo was taken in the morning in July at Fern Cove, Vashon Island. All four birds have pink legs, heavy bills, and appear to have dark irises, but the darkness of their primaries and mantles are different.

First photo (from left): I assume this is a Glaucous-winged since its primaries are almost the same color as its mantle, and because Glaucous-winged Gulls are listed as abundant in the summer at the refuge and are known to breed and nest there.

Second photo: this one’s primaries are also almost the same color as its mantle, but the feathers are a darker shade of gray than the bird in the first photo. Glaucous-winged Gulls often hybridize with Western Gulls in the region and the hybrid is listed as common at the refuge in summertime, so I’m guessing it’s a Glaucous-winged x Western. Or could it be a Glaucous-winged that simply has darker feathers?