• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Help needed from a complete novice Robins in UK (1 Viewer)

rvallely

Hi All
Forgive the naivete, I have a few questions to ask about nesting Robins

So a lovely pair of Robins have picked our back garden to setup nest.
This is in a gas Barbecue (Gas not connected as not in use) and lucky it is in a corner that is not overly used.

So I have a few questions to ask.

How much distance do we need to give the nest (Mother Robin has come as close to me as about 2 meters when collecting dry leaves, all be it at the other end of the garden) The nest is not viewable as is well inside the barbecue lid.

While not in a part of the garden that is not used as much it is within a couple of meters of our sofa (French doors leading to the garden that are not used as entry/exit). Will us moving about in the room (behind closed glass) upset them?

Also how feasible is it to cut he grass at least at the other side of the garden?

Should we consider putting some feed out? (We do not do this currently)
If yes how far away from the nest? (Do not want to attract other birds to closely)

Will the Robins remake the nest for the 2nd/3rd set of chicks? (I have read about them on the RSPB website)

We also have what we believe to be a family of Blue Tits that have setup home in a hole in the eves which we suspect they have been doing for a good few years.

The joys of lock down and being at home.

Kits

Picture Picker
Welcome to Birdforum!