• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hoping for some bird-feeding advice! (1 Viewer)

LeeUK2020

Hey everyone! I put up my first bird feeder last week (two tubes of bird seed mix and a mesh plate of soaked dried mealworms every morning) and already have tons of robins, sparrows and great tits visiting, aswell as the magpies and wood pigeon (and ugh squirrels!!!!).

As a total beginner I don't want to be splurging too much on other foodstuffs like suet and fat balls just yet, as I want to get a feeling of what sort of birds there are first! I have however bought some nyjer/niger seeds and a special feeder (arriving in 2 weeks) to attract finches - do goldfinches usually feed in London in May or is my timing completely off since I've not seen them around before (and if so what do I do?!)? What other bird species are in London that like to feed from feeders that I have missed? I'm also waiting for blue tits but haven't seen any yet...

I would appreciate any other tips you may have, since I would to feed/see as many species as possible! Hoping to go to the London Wetlands soon once lockdown ends... :)

(I posted under another forum but realised here would probably be better (sorry admins...)) :(

Hi there and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t:

We're glad you found us and thanks for taking a moment to say hello. Please join in wherever you like ;)

Hi Lee and a warm welcome from me too.