• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

How good of an optic device is good enough ? (1 Viewer)

Bino Steve

United States
I'm curious about your thoughts on what constitutes a "good enough" view through an optic device (bino, scope) ? I'm pretty new to optics and most everything I have is 20 plus years and many 50 plus years old. Still great views, still have fun. When does purchasing the latest and greatest become " gear junkie-ism" ? This is an opinion question, no right or wrong. And lets assume that the device focuses nice and works fine mechanically.
I see so much about CA and spikes and clear focus to the edge and vignetting. I understand eye relief issues and I'm taking that out of the discussion. But for edge clarity for example; when you look at something through your binoculars, don't you center it anyway in the view? Do you bail on your cheaper binos and pay thousands to have it sharper to the edge but still center your target in the view? We talk about dim views compared to an Alpha bino. Well , I wear sunglasses to 'dim' my view when I'm outside, it's just too bright. Wouldn't I want some dimming if I'm looking through optics so I'm not blinded? I understand color reproduction issues and that may warrant a bino change, but probably a simple model change or brand change.
But some of these seems silly. Did you see your target or not? Does it not count because it was vignetted around it or slightly off color. Do we not check the target off our list?