• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

How useful are dated bird books? (1 Viewer)

Mother_of_birds

United Kingdom
How useful are dated bird books?
How old does a book have to be to be 'out of date' in your opinion?

I'm new to bird watching and want to get myself a broad range of bird related books - evolution, migration, anatomy, physiology etc. anything and everything. I have an interest in science in general so I know how quickly things change so when I see a book that's 10+ years old it puts me off buying it and I don't know if its fair for me to do that in all situations (like migration patterns are pretty set and don't typically change too often?)

Anatomy is probably the topic with least change of those you have mentioned. Even though migration patterns are mostly stable, details change over time; but what have especially changed lately is understanding of what drives a bird to migrate at the time when it does, and how it navigates to where it is going.

Niels

How useful are dated bird books?
How old does a book have to be to be 'out of date' in your opinion?

I'm new to bird watching and want to get myself a broad range of bird related books - evolution, migration, anatomy, physiology etc. anything and everything. I have an interest in science in general so I know how quickly things change so when I see a book that's 10+ years old it puts me off buying it and I don't know if its fair for me to do that in all situations (like migration patterns are pretty set and don't typically change too often?)
This all depends on what there has been to replace it.