• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Intro and question about best field guide for Australia. (1 Viewer)

Marxx63

Australia
Hello, my name is Marc and although I loved birds all my life, I am an absolute novice in bird watching. I moved to Sydney Australia from The Netherlands 10 years ago. During our latest holiday I really started to enjoy spotting birds and after spotting and photographing a beautiful rainbow bee eater, I decided to dive in deep. I spoke to a lady at the Tumut Info Centre who also works for NSW National Parks & Wildlife and asked her about a good bird guide.

She mentioned the Field Guide to Australian Birds but after some research online I found out that there seem to be several versions of that! I found this title under writers like Slater, Pizzey & Knight and Simpson & Day. My question is: Is there such a thing as the ‘bible’ under field guides for Australia? Is the ninth edition of Pizzey & Knight a good one?

Welcome to Birdforum! I am sure that you will find lots to interest you here and I hope that you enjoy your visits.

Hi there Marc and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum (y)

We're glad you found us and thanks for taking a moment to say hello. Please join in wherever you like ;)

Hello Marc, and welcome!