• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Leica Ultravid 8x32 HD+ vs Swarovski CL 8x30 (1 Viewer)

I had a Leica 8x32 UVHD+ and a Swarovski 8x30 CL B to test. In several fora I have found comparisons between the Swaro CL and the Leica Trinovid, obviously due to their similar price range. However, for me the main criteria for preselection where size and weight, so the Ultravid seemed to be the better competitor to the CL. Caveat: I have limited experience with optics, so the following has to be taken with a ton of salt, but for what its worth, I will share my impressions.

Optics:
The UVHD appeared slightly brighter than the CL. This difference was small and occurred mostly when looking into tree tops and into open landscape. However, it might well be that the wider FOV of the UVHD only made it appear brighter because there was more sky (and therefore overall more light) in the picture.
CA was present in both bins, to a similar degree, but not bothersome.
The UHVD has more contrast. Unluckily, due to the permanently overcast sky during the two days of comparison I could not properly check colour rendition and glare/flare.

Handling:
The UVHD has a smooth focuser. It is very easy to use due to its big size. I could use the index, the middle finger, or both. The focuser is fast. The CL focuser is equally smooth, can only be used with one finger, and is significantly slower (which I prefer).