• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Leica upgrade Trinovid BA's vs. Ultravid HD's. (1 Viewer)

handwerk

I have been enjoying my Trinovid BA 8x32 for many years, but have a chance to buy some Ultravid 8x42 HD's for $500 more than I will get for the Trinovids if I choose to sell them.
I understand the physical differences and exit pupil between the two, leading to likely much better light gathering of the 42mm Ultravids, but in typical daylight use will the Ultravid bring me a big improvement optically? The main use of these is around the house and on hikes, for more serious work I have swaro 8.5x42 SV's as well as 12x50 SV's.
Thanks

etc

I think the 8x42 configuration is way more practical than any 8x32. Easier to hold, bigger exit pupil size. Gather more light. Not sure of FOV is affected. A 8x42 Leica is still pretty compact.

I think 32mm should have a max power of 7x, IMO.
8x42 is my favorite all purpose configuration, in any brand. It's not really about the Trinovid vs Ultravid.

eitanaltman

I have been enjoying my Trinovid BA 8x32 for many years, but have a chance to buy some Ultravid 8x42 HD's for $500 more than I will get for the Trinovids if I choose to sell them.
I understand the physical differences and exit pupil between the two, leading to likely much better light gathering of the 42mm Ultravids, but in typical daylight use will the Ultravid bring me a big improvement optically? The main use of these is around the house and on hikes, for more serious work I have swaro 8.5x42 SV's as well as 12x50 SV's.
Thanks
Yes, the Ultravid HD is better optically because the glass and coatings have improved since the BA. The fundamentals are the same, same basic optical design, but the UV HD will be brighter, more neutral, with more “sparkle”, and a bit less color fringing.