• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Meopta Meostar B1 Plus 8x32 mishaps (1 Viewer)

HenRun

Sweden
Hey gang!

My thread spamming continues in the Meopta part of the forum, but it will slow down and I will run out of steam, I promise.

This is however a thread which is not exactly a very nice representation of the Meopta brand - but I feel it warrants a thread and a caution to potential buyers.

I have been very keen on getting the B1 Plus version of the 8x32 Meostar. The B1 and especially B1.1 has a very good report both here and out there. Since I have no experience with the former B1 series and only very good experiences with the B1 Plus I have been set on the B1 Plus version of the Meostar 8x32.

I am seriously starting to think Meopta dropped the ball on this one. The focusing wheel starts out "ok" but feels a bit oval and after a few minutes of use it develops a intermittent clicking/ticking which you can feel on the dioptre adjustment knob. When this occurs there is a countdown to failure as the focusing wheel gets harder and harder and then gets stuck. On the second sample it came unstuck and worked perfectly - but only focusing one side of the binocular!

After ordering not one, but TWO brand new B1 Plus 8x32's with the same focusing wheel problem you would assume I would grow wiser. Well, you would assume wrong.