• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

New equipment, looking for good tips to improve results (1 Viewer)

tconzemi

Tom
Supporter
Europe
Hi all, I'm completely new to sound recording (birding for 40 years though), so here is my equipment I'm using now for 3 months (obviously not the best season for birdsong):
Zoom H2n Handy Recorder with a Sennheiser microphone MKE 600 with camera holder and self-made handgrip as well as a fur windshield.
Major points for this choice were:
  • not too expensive
  • easy to carry (at home and when travelling)
  • easy to handle
First results are very nice using Audacity for clipping and changing to mp3 and Raven light for filters and sonograms. Obviously best results in calm environment and birds pretty close (I am not looking for a parabole right now).
I find the record button somehow strange on the H2n but otherwise very easy handling and no weight at all.
I'm including a few pictures of the equipment and a sonogram of a Short-toed Treecreeper (distance ca 20 meters) and an Eagle Owl (male) (distance ca 80-100 m)
Here are my questions:
  • what mistakes are to be avoided?
  • any other equipment needed at this stage?
  • Do you prefer clean sonograms or with a lot of grey tones all over the area?
Thanks for any help

Attachments

• IMG_0043.jpg
    IMG_0043.jpg
    62.2 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_0044.jpg
    IMG_0044.jpg
    108.6 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_0045.jpg
    IMG_0045.jpg
    89 KB · Views: 13
  • 201206-114442certhia brachydactyla LABspec.jpg
    201206-114442certhia brachydactyla LABspec.jpg
    1,006.5 KB · Views: 13
  • bubobubops.jpg
    bubobubops.jpg
    97.9 KB · Views: 15
As you are happy with the results I am tempted to say that 'if it ain't broke don't fix it'.