• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New to Binoculars :) (1 Viewer)

Joe94

United Kingdom
Evening all,

So I’m totally new to semi pro/pro level bins, only ever using cheap generic ones before.

I’ve gained a passion for birds & bird photography so want a decent pair to assist, when either in the garden or out & about.

After doing some self research, with a budget of around £200-250, it seems Hawke, seems to be a good brand to be looking at & if I’m right a pair of x8-42 should be ideal? Iv read there better for birding & particularly shake...

I have also read it’s best to try them out before purchase, especially as a glasses wearer, but just thought I’d ask on here if I’m going down the right track as it were aha :)

Good morning Joe,
unfortunately, I can't help you in the price category. A few thoughts anyway. In this price category I would look at binoculars from local dealers, Vortex, Opticron, Hawke, Vixen, Nikon Monarch 5 ... None will be perfect.
Or save a little - and buy a pair of Kowa YFII 8x30 porro binoculars first. As light hiking binoculars, the purchase is not false. Your country of origin speaks for an 8x42. Great Britain is not supposed to be particularly bright and sunny ...
To get started, read this thread:
Kite Birdwatcher 8x42 (also porro bins, not cheap but inexpensive) has good reviews.
Jessie

Last edited:
Good morning Joe,
unfortunately, I can't help you in the price category. A few thoughts anyway. In this price category I would look at binoculars from local dealers, Vortex, Opticron, Hawke, Vixen, Nikon Monarch 5 ... None will be perfect.