• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon E2s (1 Viewer)

steverowe

I've just bought a pair of Nikon E2 8x30 bins here in Saudi Arabia. I'm new to birding so I don't know much about optics. There isn't much choice in Saudi but I think I got the E2s for a good price, around £140. The cheapest I've seen then in UK online stores is £249. Mind you, although they are obviously new, they didn't come with a strap or a case. And the warranty is for a year worldwide...not 25 years.

I'm really lusting after a top scope ...one of the big three with a 20-60 zoom. All the birding books/web-sites reccommend that you spend most money of your money on bins. My question is, do you experts think that the E2s are good enough for general birding use? I can't really try them out here. The security situation is not very good at the moment. Anybody wandering around with binoculars is liable to get arrested. The Saudi authorities are very touchy.

So although the birding is probably excellent here. It's not really advisible for the time being.

Actually, my statement about not being able to try my E2s out here was a load of rubbish. It's early in the morning now 06:00am and just looking out of my back window for 10 minutes I've seen 3 rose-ringed parakeets, rock doves that live on a water-tower just behind my house, african collared doves, a common myna and a white cheeked bulbul, and a sparrow.