• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon Monarch M5 or GPO Passion ED? (1 Viewer)

AttilaLengyel

Hungary
Hello,
after weighing many parameters, I ended up at these two models from which I can pick one.

• I have been using Monarch DCF 8x42 for 17 years now. No problems, apart from serious wear-off. Now I want to change to 10x42 and step up if possible.
  • I had no chance to try the GPO 10x42, only a 8x42; that was great, though. 10x42 is not currently available in my country (Hungary).
  • I tried M5 in 10x42 and 8x42 and that was nice. But maybe not the best ever.
  • I wear eye-glasses, and the trade-off between FOV and ER limits me seriously. Even if GPO offers wider FOV, I cannot use it entirely due to its shorter ER.
  • Nikon has nice support in my country but I would have to purchase GPO from abroad.
  • I read some opinions about issues (some 'play') with the focus knob of the GPO. How is it?

So which one would you choose?
Thanks for any help.

Hello,
after weighing many parameters, I ended up at these two models from which I can pick one.

• I have been using Monarch DCF 8x42 for 17 years now. No problems, apart from serious wear-off. Now I want to change to 10x42 and step up if possible.
  • I had no chance to try the GPO 10x42, only a 8x42; that was great, though. 10x42 is not currently available in my country (Hungary).
  • I tried M5 in 10x42 and 8x42 and that was nice. But maybe not the best ever.
  • I wear eye-glasses, and the trade-off between FOV and ER limits me seriously. Even if GPO offers wider FOV, I cannot use it entirely due to its shorter ER.