• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS. Discover the fascinating world of birds, and win a birding trip to Columbia

Nocmig recording in city center - is it worth trying? (1 Viewer)

David_

Germany
Hi,

I recently thought about starting with nocmig recordings. As a beginner I wouldn‘t want to spend a lot of money so I thought about getting the Audiomoth recorder. But as I am living close to the city center of Düsseldorf I don‘t know if it‘s worth the investment and effort. For most of the night I will probably record either my neighbors (if I put the recorder on the balcony facing the backyards/gardens of my apartment block) or city noise (if put the recorder out of window on the street side).

Has anyone experience with nocmig recordings (especially with the Audiomoth recorder) from inner city areas? Is the city’s background noise a problem for recording and identification?
Also do migrating birds fly over bright city lights? During autumn last year and spring this year I saw a couple thousand Common Cranes flying over my balcony (over a few days) and some White Storks so if nocturnal migrating species take the same routes it might be worth a try.

What do you think? Is it worth the investment and effort?

tconzemi

Tom
Supporter
Europe
As you may know Berlin Peregrines started to hunt during night some years ago with great success, so yes birds are migrating during the night over city centers

Ries

Netherlands