• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Paralysis by analysis (1 Viewer)

Haydn C

Greetings birders of the world. I’m a Bedfordshire based newbie birder/photographer and find myself becoming into the state of my thread title.

It’s my first post here and feeling ever so slightly guilty for jumping straight in and asking what must have been done umpteen boring times to death before. Nevertheless, I am in a confused state as to which direction I should go with some slightly upgraded bins.

A couple of years ago I bought what I thought would be a half-decent pair of Nikon Aculon 8x42 and while they’ve been acceptable they’ve hardly been brilliant. I now find myself wanting not only something slightly lighter (in this I’ve decided 8x30 or 32) but also with a bit more wow factor on the optics side. I’m a glasses wearer and have a budget of about £200 (ideally) but would possibly stretch to £300 if the extra poundage bought a suitable improvement.

So far I’ve been looking at Vanguard Endevour II 8x30 ( they do not seem to do this size format in Endevour IV ? Vortex diamond back, Hawke Endurance, though I’m slightly confused they they seem to have ED glass and the higher spec Frontier range have HD glass - unless you choose the significantly more expensive Frontier ED. To add to my potential short list (which seems to be getting ever longer) I see decent reviews on here for Sightron Bluesky, though they seem less easy to source here in the UK.

At the moment I’m leaning towards the Vanguard’s but before I pull the trigger, is there anything else worth me looking at? Any comments would be greatly appreciated and I look forward to becoming more than just a forum lurker on here now.

Last edited:

lmans66

Out Birding....
Supporter
United States