• BirdForum is the net's largest birding community dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE!

Register for an account to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Remote and cheap birding in europe (1 Viewer)

Maffong

Hello,
I'll probably have 2-3 weeks this summer for my own, which I'd like to use for birding (however I'm not sure if everything will work out) and I was thinking of doing some birding on my own in a place, where
A) there's a lot to discover (e.g. new lifers, but maybe also interesting (new?) species for the WP or europe)
B) it's safe to travel on your own (so rather no Egypt)
C) it's cheap to travel (I'm still a student)
D) I can get around without a car and a guide (I should really make that drivers license)

I'm currently thinking about birding in the Ural region (Rubythroat FTW), because a friend of mine did that last year, but I'm not so sure how well I can get around there without a car.

So if you know any place that fulfills the above mentioned conditions or if you have any tips on traveling independently in a remote area (I'm thinking of camping) any comment would be greatly appreciated. This would be my first trip like this, so I'd rather not start with an all too difficult place.

Cheers
Maffong

njlarsen

Gallery Moderator
Opus Editor
Supporter
Barbados
Depending on when during the summer, any of the Baltic countries - especially if you are so late that the early fall migration becomes an option. I only know about the area from a friend of mine who has visited a couple of times, but it sounds like a wonderful area. Bus transportation should actually be possible without paying an arm and a leg.

Niels

albatross02

Very inexpensiv place is Bulgaria.
Much more save and also not expensiv is Belarus.
I heard different time, the people should be very pleasent there.

Andy Adcock

England