• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sigmonster 300-800 (1 Viewer)

Just wondering if anyone else is using this lens for bird photography.
I have had mine for a few years and wouldn't want to use anything shorter.

It is a superb lens but does have limitations, it is only f5.6 so good light needed, it weighs a ton has no OS,and costs a small fortune.

Will upload some photos when I get time

Hi Chalky, I know exactly what you mean.
I was a volunteer photographer at Paignton zoo and the light was usually far from great.
was initially using it with a Canon 10D and anything above iso 400 was starting to look noisy, The 40D was much better but still not great.Upgraded to 5DmkIII about a year ago, full frame is great but sometimes miss the 1.6x crop factor.

It works much better on the 5DmkIII and use it mainly at iso 400 but even at upto iso 1600 is looking pretty good

The light is much better over here in Perth as I am sure you can imagine.

It is a superb lens but does have limitations, it is only f5.6 so good light needed, it weighs a ton has no OS,and costs a small fortune.

You say 'only ' F5.6 ' @ 800mm and costs a fortune and weighs a ton ?

So you would have preferred it faster... f4 @ 800mm ? Can you imagine the weight and cost of such a beast ? And why would no OS be a problem with a lens you can barely lift off the ground - it'll be on a tripod anyways

You say 'only ' F5.6 ' @ 800mm and costs a fortune and weighs a ton ?