• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Six 'firsts' (1 Viewer)

RonClark28

Yesterday Sunday 20 September 2009 I joined Nuneaton Bird Watching Club on a birding trip to Hickling Broad in the hope of seeing the Common Cranes flying in to roast. Well, there’s 2 of my ‘firsts’ and here’s the list of them.

1.This is the first time I’ve been part of a birding club and I’ve been birding since the late 1980s.
2.Sunday was my first organised birding trip.
3.On the way down we found out about glossy ibris south of Norwich which we went to look for but didn’t get making it my first ‘twitch’, followed by another one to Winterton-on-Sea (a place I’d never heard of before so making it yet another first time I’ve been there),[4] for the red-breasted flycatcher which we did get, making it my first ‘twiched’ bird [5] that I got.
[6]On to Hickling Broad, another first time visit. OK, let’s now look at the birds, or at least those that I saw.