• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Te-10 vs te-11 eyepiece (1 Viewer)

Hi all,
I am currently in a situation of buying a kowa 773 scope, I have seen two options. One scope is used and includes a te-10 20-60x eyepiece looks to be in good condition, or to just buy a new 773 which would cost me about £450 more which includes the te-11 25-60x wide angle eyepiece.
I’ve heard people really like the te-11 would I regret buying a kowa with the te-10 eyepiece instead?

Hi Aaron,

First of all, welcome to birdforum.
I have no experience of the TE-10 but believe the apparent field of view is rather narrow at the lower magnifications. I do however have an 883 with the TE-11WZ, which is a truly excellent eyepiece. Its eye relief is adequate for glasses wearers and it is virtually free of field curvature, astigmatism and rectilinear distortion, i.e. it has almost perfect edge sharpness.
I have measured the AFoV as 57° @ 25x, 66° @ 40x and 68° @ 60x.
The 883 is not that much heavier or more expensive than the 773 and you would never wish for more.

John

Hi Aaron,

First of all, welcome to birdforum.
I have no experience of the TE-10 but believe the apparent field of view is rather narrow at the lower magnifications. I do however have an 883 with the TE-11WZ, which is a truly excellent eyepiece. Its eye relief is adequate for glasses wearers and it is virtually free of field curvature, astigmatism and rectilinear distortion, i.e. it has almost perfect edge sharpness.
I have measured the AFoV as 57° @ 25x, 66° @ 40x and 68° @ 60x.