• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

The Miscellaneous Tales of a Bundling Birder... (1 Viewer)

Ok so I'm new in these parts but keen to 'get stuck in'. I'll be posting a few blogs here, how often is yet to be decided, like most resolutions at this time of year they tend to have been thrown out along with the leftover debris of Christmas by the end of January, well we'll see.

I am not a bird expert, not even close I am a person who likes birds, knows a lot more than I sometimes realise even if I have to check the bird guide to confirm my hunches. I'll save the Oliver Twist story of how I spent the slightly over half a century of my life in and out of birding and finally like a reluctant groom got up the point where I've finally committed, or perhaps being committed will be the result of all this!

Anyway to begin I will just begin with today, a rather inclement day down here in Cornwall, that is a posh way of saying it was littered with wintry showers and gusty wind, the sort of gloomy day when daylight seems to spend most of the day struggling to make an appearance and time as a result seems to stand still, early morning drags on and never seems to end and then all of a sudden it's dark again and you try to figure out what happened to the bit in the middle.